Confessions of Christmas 2014

I have enjoyed Christmas week. I am grateful that I got to celebrate the holiday with my immediate family, though this week has not been without pain. I barely remember anything from Christmas last year. It is amazing how trauma can rob you of your memories. My husband does not remember much from last Christmas, either, and he was not the one who had surgery. That time was a blur for all of us, so celebrating Christmas this year was all the more important to me.

IMG_3768

I was married before. While I consider the end of my first marriage to be one of my biggest personal failures, I am glad that Riley’s dad and I continue to have a very amicable relationship. Riley spends every other Christmas with her father, and on the years that she is technically with me, I still encourage her to spend a good chunk of the vacation with her dad. I think dads are hugely underrated in our society. I think their presence and guidance is critical to the emotional growth and development of healthy boys and girls. It is very important that Riley spend time with her father and his family, and I do not ever want to stand in the way of those relationships.

Last year, it just worked out that Riley was with us on Christmas Day. I was thrilled, of course, because I really was unsure as to how many Christmases I might have left. But since I really do not remember much from last Christmas, it was harder to let her go this year. I cried after her dad picked her up. It really is OK. She is having fun and enjoying time with her relatives. I just cannot help look at Riley and wonder how many holidays she will be spending at my home, with our family. She has one-and-a-half years of high school left and then she will be off to college. How long will it be before she forms her own family and then they start their own holiday traditions?

Between my cancer experience and watching my daughter grow so close to adulthood, I want to slow down time to make every experience last longer. It seems that I keep wondering…how much longer? How much longer do I have on the planet? How much longer do my husband and I have together? How much longer will my kids be coming home for the holidays? How much longer will I have Riley around to enjoy our deep and meaningful daily conversations? She has grown into so much more than “just” my daughter. How much longer will Peyton still be my little girl who loves dolls and Lego’s? How much longer will Peyton still want to hold my hand and have me tuck her in at night? I know none of these things are permanent. I have to savor these moments when they occur.

So, we spent the week making memories that I hope can sustain me when the time has passed.

On Sunday I ran 16 miles in Cheyenne Canyon with my husband. This is my favorite place to run in Colorado Springs. The temperature in the city got up to about 50 degrees. It grew colder as we climbed past the 9000′ elevation mark, but was still pleasant. The few inches of snow on the trail made the climbing slow but the run down playful and fun. This is my favorite kind of adventure.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_38011.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_37891.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_3802.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_37871.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_37971.jpg

On Monday, I did a six-mile loop with Riley on the Section 16 trail in Colorado Springs. I wanted to do something special with just the two of us. More snow had fallen over night, which made the trail absolutely beautiful. I am so incredibly happy that my 17-year-old daughter really enjoys being out in the woods. To get to share the trails I love with Riley is such an amazing gift. We hiked up the steep side of the trail and then ran down the long downhill, while marveling at the beauty of the fresh snow on the trails and in the trees. This will be one of my favorite memories from our Christmas break.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_38051.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_3819.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_38161.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_38111.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_38201.jpg

The girls and I made approximately 10,000 gingerbread cookies on Monday. We celebrated Christmas with Riley on Tuesday. Riley had asked me a while back what I wanted for Christmas and I jokingly said, “A new pancreas.” So, she embroidered one for me. Yes, she is an amazing young woman.

My New Pancreas

My New Pancreas

On Wednesday, after my teary good-bye to Riley, Peyton and I did our last-minute preparations. We played a bunch of board games and then we took Greta to Petco to get her a Christmas present. Greta had a blast and Peyton and I enjoyed seeing her so happy.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_3880.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/025/78248353/files/2014/12/img_3882.jpg

On Christmas Day, Stephen, Peyton and I opened up our gifts. We ate our Christmas meal and spent hours playing games together. It was a simple and yet wonderful day.

IMG_3892

On Friday, I took Peyton to “City Rock” so she could try out rock climbing. It was right up her alley.

Peyton rock climbing.

Peyton rock climbing.

Yesterday, Steve and I ran 18 miles. It was still cold, but the sun was shining and I felt good until the final mile. Maybe I am making progress!

Smiling because our run is complete!

Smiling because our run is complete!

While I have been a little sad that Riley is not with us this year, I am thankful that we have been able to create some memories with the time that we have had. I have gotten to spend individual time with each member of the family this week. While I had hoped for a little more quantity, I got what I hope is plenty of quality. Last year’s celebration felt hampered by fear and uncertainty. This year feels happier and more promising for all of us. Last year, I wondered if I would be here for this Christmas. Now, I am wondering about what future Christmases will hold for our family. While some things make me a little sad, getting to see my daughters grow up and move forward with their lives is a gift and a blessing. I remember my good fortune every single day.

6 thoughts on “Confessions of Christmas 2014

  1. wow what an amazing writing! I learn so much from reading what you write, and can’t help but think that as sad as it is Riley will go to college in a year and a half, freshman year of college is when we met. That’s a gift that has kept on giving! I’m so grateful for you and what you blog. How many amazing friends from that year, and Brad, are still so important if not vital, to my life. Incredible Riley is so close to being the age that we all met. How did it all fly by so quickly. I never would’ve believed it could be this way. You are so far physically from me but your writings and life are very important to me as are our memories of Union! Happy new year and may it be a healthy one for all!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Pam! I was 17 when I went to Union, after my junior year in high school! That is just crazy to think about. I cannot imagine Riley leaving this year. Thank you so much for your comments. It is true that the friendships we formed freshman year have been long lasting and vital to shaping who we have turned out to be as adults. Love you guys!

    Like

  3. Your amazing Tonia. You give me such inspiration! I too am looking forward to many more Christmases with my family and sharing the 6 % club with you! XX

    Like

  4. Sounds like a lovely week, overall! The holidays are always bittersweet, causing us to reflect on what is not in our lives, as well as on our blessings. The lovely environment, and close, supportive relationships are huge blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

